
A Duplicate License Fee of $15.00 Must Accompany This Application. 
 

APPLICATION FOR A LICENSURE TRANSFER 
OF AN ASSISTANT FUNERAL DIRECTOR LICENSE 

 
 

Please complete and sign 
The following information should be completed by the Assistant Funeral Director Applicant.  Information on page two should also be 
reviewed and signed by the applicant - with additional information (as needed) attached to this application. Pages three and four should be 
completed and signed by the supervising licensed Kansas funeral director. Attachments to this application should be read, reviewed and 

kept by the applicant and supervising licensee with questions directed to the KSBMA office. 
 

 

 
To the Kansas State Board of Mortuary Arts: 

 
I,                                                                          ,hereby make application to transfer my assistant funeral director license # to the 

supervision of Kansas license funeral director named in this application. 
 

I am a Citizen of Kansas. Yes No I am aged seventeen years or over. Yes No 
Have you ever been convicted of a felony?  Yes  No 
If yes, please state the date of conviction: ------------- 
Explain your conviction in separate documentation to accompany this application. 

 
 

 
 

On the day of , 20 , I became an employee at --------------- 
                                                                                                                                                                              (Name of Funeral Home)                                                                                                                                                          

located in -----------------under the supervision of active Kansas funeral director 
             (City)                    (State) 

 

   ------------------------' holder of Kansas funeral director license # _ 
(Name of Funeral Director) 

 
Are you employed full-time? Yes No 

 
Do you wish to serve a Kansas funeral director apprenticeship?   Yes   No   

 
Please note that funeral director apprentice applicants must have complete college transcripts sent directly to the KSBMA office from the college 
attended for review by the Mortuary Arts Board before a funeral director apprentice application will be provided by the KSBMA. Applicants also 
attending Mortuary college should wait to apply for apprenticeship until after graduation. Time will not be counted towards the one year 
apprenticeship until an assistant funeral director license has been issued and all time is worked on a Full-time basis. (Fu/I-time is defined as 
a minimum of 40 hours per week--50 weeks per year) *NOTE: An apprentice funeral director application will not be sent until all college 
transcripts have been reviewed and approved by the Board. 

 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Kansas that the foregoing is true and correct. 
 

Executed on:  _  (Signed) _ 
(Date) 

(PRINT Full Name) _ 
 
 

(Home Address) ---------------------- 
 

(Home City, State, Zip) -------------------- 

(County) _ 

 
(Social Security) ---------------------- 

 
 

 

(OVER) 



PLEASE READ AND CAREFULLY ANSWER EACH QUESTION IN THIS SECTION 
 

THIS APPLICATION WILL NOT BE PROCESSED UNTIL YOU SIGN AND DATE THE FORM  
AND SUBMIT THE REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION 

 

K.S.A. 65-1751 provides that the Board may refuse to issue or renew a license, may condition, limit, revoke or suspend a license or may 
publicly or privately censure, or may impose a fine on a licensee not to exceed $1,000 per violation, upon a finding that an applicant or 
licensee has engaged in certain conduct. 

 
K.S.A. 65-1766 provides that the Board may refuse to issue or renew a license or revoke, condition, limit, censure, fine or suspend a license 
for the crematory or crematory operator upon a finding that a crematory operator or the crematory operator in charge has engaged in 
certain conduct. 

 
As used in this application, “license” means an embalmer’s license, funeral director’s license, assistant funeral director’s license, 
establishment license, branch license, crematory license or crematory operator’s license. Please mark “Yes” or “No” as applicable. 
Misleading, deceptive, untrue or fraudulent statements made in applying for or securing an original or renewal license may be grounds 
for denial of the license. 

 
 YO U MUST A TT A CH A WRI T T EN EXPLA NAT I ON FO R EA CH “ YES” A NSWER.  

 

1. Have you ever been convicted of a felony? YES    NO    
If you checked YES, in addition to a written explanation, you must also attach a copy of Journal Entry of Conviction, Journal Entry of 
Sentencing, and the Parole or Post Release Supervision Certificate and Conditions. 

 
2. Have you ever violated any law, ordinance, or rule and regulation affecting the handling, custody, care or transportation of dead human 

bodies or cremated remains? YES    NO    
 

3. Have you ever had a license denied, revoked or suspended, subject to censure or fine or has any other disciplinary action been taken 
against you by this Board or the licensing authority of any other state, jurisdiction, territory, the District of Columbia or any other 
country? YES    NO    

 

4. Have you ever failed to report to the Board any adverse disciplinary action taken against you by another state or licensing jurisdiction, a 
professional association or society, a governmental agency, a law enforcement agency, or a court? YES    NO    

 

5. Have you ever had an adverse judgment, award or settlement taken against you resulting from the practice of funeral directing, 
embalming or cremation, or failed to report such matter to the Board? YES    NO    

 

6. Have you ever been found guilty of negligence, incompetence, fraud, misrepresentation or deceit in connection with services rendered 
as a licensee? YES    NO    

 

7. Do you have any pending criminal charges or civil / administrative actions that have been filed against you, or are in the process of being 
investigated or filed, related to any of the above situations? YES    NO    

 

FOR RENEWALS ONLY: 
 

     Check here if any of the above situations for which you checked “YES” occurred since your last renewal. 
 

NOTICE TO ALL COMPLETING THIS FORM: (1) If you submit this application before you are eligible for a license or before your license 
renewal date, you must notify the Board if any of the above situations occur while this application is pending and until a license is 
granted, or until your license renewal date. 
(2) If you checked YES on any question, in addition to a written explanation, you must also submit documentation that explains 
each YES answer, including court records; court orders, journal entries, or judgments, administrative findings; and the like. YOUR 
APPLICATION CANNOT BE PROCESSED UNTIL THE REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION IS SUBMITTED. 

 

I DECLARE UNDER PENALTY OF PERJURY THAT THE FOREGOING IS TRUE AND CORRECT. 
 
 

 

Signature of Applicant / Licensee County Social Security Number Date 
 

K.S.A. 74-139 provides that upon request from the director of taxation, the Board must provide a listing of all applicants, their SSN, and address. 



TO BE COMPLETED AND SIGNED BY THE LICENSED KANSAS SUPERVISING 
FUNERAL DIRECTOR: 

 

AFFI DAVIT OF LICENSED FUNERAL DIRECTOR 
 
 

I hereby state that began working as an assistant funeral director on the day 

(Name of Assistant Funeral Director Applicant) 
of , 20 , at located at _ 

 
(Name of Funeral Home) (Full Address) 

 
 

I am the holder of Kansas Funeral Director license # and am familiar with the Kansas requirements governing an apprentice or 

an assistant funeral director and Iagree to comply with the same. The funeral director under whom the assistant funeral director is 

registered with must immediately notify the Board when the assistant funeral director has left the funeral director's employment. 

 

Please indicate if the assistant funeral director will be working full-time under your supervision: Yes 

If yes, when will full-time employment begin (date): _ 

No _ 

 
 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Kansas that the foregoing is true and correct. 
 

Executed   on:---------- 
(Date) 

(Signed) _ 

(PRINT Full Name) _ 

(Address) _ 
 

(City, State, Zip) -------------------- 
 

(Social Security) --------------------- 

(County) _ 

 
 

Two copies (one for the assistant funeral director applicant and one for the supervising funeral director) of the statutes and regulations 
governing this license are included with this application. 

 
 

Kansas State Board of Mortuary Arts 
700 SW Jackson St., Suite #904 

Topeka, Kansas 66603-3733 
Phone: (785) 296-3980 

          Email: boma1@ks.gov  
         Web site: http://ksbma.ks.gov 
 

 
ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE 

 
 
 
 

Last Updated: December, 2018 
 
 
 
 
 

 

(OVER) 



PLEASE READ AND CAREFULLY ANSWER EACH QUESTION IN THIS SECTION 
 

THIS APPLICATION WILL NOT BE PROCESSED UNTIL YOU SIGN AND DATE THE FORM  
AND SUBMIT THE REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION 

 

K.S.A. 65-1751 provides that the Board may refuse to issue or renew a license, may condition, limit, revoke or suspend a license or may 
publicly or privately censure, or may impose a fine on a licensee not to exceed $1,000 per violation, upon a finding that an applicant or 
licensee has engaged in certain conduct. 

 
K.S.A. 65-1766 provides that the Board may refuse to issue or renew a license or revoke, condition, limit, censure, fine or suspend a license 
for the crematory or crematory operator upon a finding that a crematory operator or the crematory operator in charge has engaged in 
certain conduct. 

 
As used in this application, “license” means an embalmer’s license, funeral director’s license, assistant funeral director’s license, 
establishment license, branch license, crematory license or crematory operator’s license. Please mark “Yes” or “No” as applicable. 
Misleading, deceptive, untrue or fraudulent statements made in applying for or securing an original or renewal license may be grounds 
for denial of the license. 

 
 YO U MUST A TT A CH A WRI T T EN EXPLA NAT I ON FO R EA CH “ YES” A NSWER.  

 

1. Have you ever been convicted of a felony? YES    NO    
If you checked YES, in addition to a written explanation, you must also attach a copy of Journal Entry of Conviction, Journal Entry of 
Sentencing, and the Parole or Post Release Supervision Certificate and Conditions. 

 
2. Have you ever violated any law, ordinance, or rule and regulation affecting the handling, custody, care or transportation of dead human 

bodies or cremated remains? YES    NO    
 

3. Have you ever had a license denied, revoked or suspended, subject to censure or fine or has any other disciplinary action been taken 
against you by this Board or the licensing authority of any other state, jurisdiction, territory, the District of Columbia or any other 
country? YES    NO    

 

4. Have you ever failed to report to the Board any adverse disciplinary action taken against you by another state or licensing jurisdiction, a 
professional association or society, a governmental agency, a law enforcement agency, or a court? YES    NO    

 

5. Have you ever had an adverse judgment, award or settlement taken against you resulting from the practice of funeral directing, 
embalming or cremation, or failed to report such matter to the Board? YES    NO    

 

6. Have you ever been found guilty of negligence, incompetence, fraud, misrepresentation or deceit in connection with services rendered 
as a licensee? YES    NO    

 

7. Do you have any pending criminal charges or civil / administrative actions that have been filed against you, or are in the process of being 
investigated or filed, related to any of the above situations? YES    NO    

 

FOR RENEWALS ONLY: 
 

     Check here if any of the above situations for which you checked “YES” occurred since your last renewal. 
 

NOTICE TO ALL COMPLETING THIS FORM: (1) If you submit this application before you are eligible for a license or before your license 
renewal date, you must notify the Board if any of the above situations occur while this application is pending and until a license is 
granted, or until your license renewal date. 
(2) If you checked YES on any question, in addition to a written explanation, you must also submit documentation that explains 
each YES answer, including court records; court orders, journal entries, or judgments, administrative findings; and the like. YOUR 
APPLICATION CANNOT BE PROCESSED UNTIL THE REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION IS SUBMITTED. 

 

I DECLARE UNDER PENALTY OF PERJURY THAT THE FOREGOING IS TRUE AND CORRECT. 
 
 

 

Signature of Applicant / Licensee County Social Security Number Date 
 

K.S.A. 74-139 provides that upon request from the director of taxation, the Board must provide a listing of all applicants, their SSN, and address. 
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